I count this box as a "P". I created it, and the map is
basically "find this other information and deal with it".
I have mailed it off as a postal box, with the permission that
the person who receives it is free to put it somewhere and
describe that placement. If postal boxes count as P's, this
counts a P. Now, more interesting is how the receiver counts.
Since you need to create the stamp, clues, and place for a P,
they should not count it as a P. But, if you receive a postal
box, they would count it as an F!. So this box counts as an
F for the person I send it to! This is also consistent with
the "Conservation of Box Principle", which says the sum total of
all boxes out there (plus missing ones) sums to the total P
count of everyone. Unfortunately, this doesn't jibe with
common sense. Perhaps the Conservation of Box Principle
is wrong, e.g., if you revise your clues, placement, and stamp,
you get another P, but the box remains, right? I of course
don't agree with that, a box is like Beldin's Pants, so once
created, it remains the same box even if all of this stuff
changes. Thus, no one can ever get another P on
Beldin's Box by my system (tho people have done so legitimately,
how is another kettle of fish ... :-)). Thus, my PF counting
system may not seem intuitive, but it is entirely logical and
self-consistent, so I'm sticking with it.
Of course, the receiver in this case could argue for the P
under the logic that they are simply obtaining stamp and hardware
from me and are creating the series themselves. My
Wordplay box is like this -- I received the stamp from someone
else to place. Of course, in this case, I received the stamp,
not a box, so I can count this as well. But this isn't the case here.
They are receiving a box. Its up to the creator to deem what they
have created, and in this case, its a postal box with permission
to use it as they wish once received. Of course, I don't care how
they count it, it is up to them -- I'm simply interested in this
arcana as I enjoy disovering simple rules that anticipate all
This box does not, however, count towards my "Q"
count (boxes placed in different states), as no postal box, HH
or the like can. For this count to go up, I must physically
hide a new stationary box in the counted state.
DISCLAIMER & COPYRIGHT:
PERSONS USING THIS CLUE OR HUNTING THIS LETTERBOX DO SO AT THEIR
OWN RISK. Do not hunt this letterbox without reading and
agreeing to the waiver first.
Children, do not hunt this letterbox without the
supervision of an adult who has read and agreed to the waiver.
Possession of this clue does not imply rights of
access to particular lands and route choices, or the safety
thereof, including the location of the box itself. Always
observe current local regulations, signs, property rights,
and customs; you are responsible for your actions. Clue
not indended to be taken literally or to suggest route
choices; route choices (and the choice to proceed at all),
are your choice.
This stamp is
copyright © 2003, by Randy Hall.
Permission to reproduce for personal use granted; all other rights reserved.